noobdeep.blogg.se

The evolution of robin thicke tracklist
The evolution of robin thicke tracklist




the evolution of robin thicke tracklist

The jury awarded the Gaye family $4 million in damages, with profits of more than $1.6 million from Williams and more than $1,760,099 from Thicke.

the evolution of robin thicke tracklist

The eight jurors also determined that the infringement was not willful, but also not innocent. On March 10, the jury found that Thicke and Williams had infringed on the tune, but not rapper T.I., who was also named as a party in the suit. In 2014, the family of Marvin Gaye launched a suit against Thicke and Pharrell Williams as well as EMI April – the song publisher now owned by Sony/ATV – claiming similarities between "Blurred Lines" and Gaye's 1977 song " Got to Give It Up". Elias Leight of PopMatters said that the album's first half draws on the luxuriant funk and disco popular in the late 1970s, while the second half is characterized by club-oriented electronic sounds and a few ballads. According to AllMusic's Andy Kellman, it has an array of glossy, pop-oriented dance tracks that deviate from the title track's "disco-funk" style, while other songs such as "Ooo La La" and " For the Rest of My Life" are more rooted in soul. Music critic Greg Kot called Blurred Lines a dance-pop album, while Caroline Sullivan of The Guardian characterized its music as upbeat " funk/ soul". "And then the last year, my wife and I just really wanted to have fun again, we wanted to be young again and we wanted to dance again and go out with our friends, so I wanted to make music that reflected that culture also." Īccording to AllMusic, it is an R&B album. I think I took myself very seriously as an artist and I wanted to be like Marvin Gaye, and John Lennon and Bob Marley and these great artists and songwriters that sang about love and sang about relationships," Robin explained. "The last year I've been wanting to have more fun.

the evolution of robin thicke tracklist

Thicke also explained his foray into a more mainstream pop-oriented sound than his usual milieu. I better pay attention, I better listen and keep learning.' So I think that, that's what I've been realizing these past few years." Music and lyrics And everything you thought you knew, the older you get, you realize, 'Damn, I don't know nothing about this. I've realized as I've gotten older that we all think we're living either in a black or white world, or on a straight path, but most of us are living right in between those straight lines. Thicke detailed the album's concept in an interview with The Breakfast Club, "The album is titled Blurred Lines.






The evolution of robin thicke tracklist